The National Energy Awards 2022 drives more sustainable breakthroughs from local industries


The National Energy Awards (NEA) announced its winners for the year 2022 by honouring industry players for embracing and investing in sustainable energy practices. Spearheaded by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (KETSA), NEA is an award that recognises forward-thinking sustainable concepts and practices for Malaysia’s leading business figures in the renewable energy, energy management, and energy efficiency sectors.

NEA 2022, which aligns with Malaysia’s goal of becoming carbon-neutral by 2050, continues to increase industry participation and awareness of sustainable energy practices adhering to international standards. With the support of NEA 2022, the nation is one step closer to achieving the objectives outlined in the Malaysia Renewable Energy Roadmap (MyRER), which futureproofs the country’s energy sector, aligning with Malaysia’s goal of becoming carbon-neutral by 2050.

A total of 20 awards in three categories are available to Malaysian residents, businesses, and organisations, including institutions of higher learning. Twelve groups were chosen as NEA winners in the categories of Energy Management, Energy Efficient Building, Renewable Energy, and Special Awards.

The fifth edition of the NEA saw winners in Category 1 (Energy Management), with Medivest Sdn Bhd taking home the award for Energy Management for Large Buildings at Hospital Pakar Sultanah Fatimah HPSF. CSC Steel Sdn Bhd won the Energy Management for
an Industry award for their energy management toward efficient and sustainable process operations.

Other categories, such as Category 2 (Energy Efficient Building), saw BGreen Associates come out on top for Green Building Large category at Kepong’s Tzu Chi Jing Si Hall. Kompleks Sukan Astaka, Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) won the Zero Green Building category.

Concord Green Energy won first place in the Renewable Energy category for their project, Concord FGV Keratong 2 Biogas Plant: The R&D Centre of Excellence. Tenaga Nasional Berhad also won the On-grid Local Grid type for its PV and mini hydro project on Pulau Tioman.

The winners were chosen after a thorough evaluation process that included panels of seasoned and knowledgeable judges. The winners of Categories 1 and 2 represented Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards (AEA). The winner of the Special Awards in the Sustainable Energy Financing Category will be announced at the NEA 2022 Awards Ceremony, scheduled for March 2023.

KETSA’s Minister, YB Datuk Seri Takiyuddin bin Hassan, stated in his speech, “NEA will encourage more local businesses and corporations to embrace the “new norm” in the electricity industry. I hope that NEA will continue to play its role in identifying Malaysian organisations that can spearhead the development of local and regional sustainable energy sector.”

“These achievements have also illustrated Malaysia’s efforts in driving the sustainable energy agenda. I am pleased that 22 most outstanding submissions for NEA 2022 have been selected to represent Malaysia at the ASEAN Energy Awards 2022, in which its result will be announced virtually on 15 September,” added Datuk Seri Takiyuddin.

This is consistent with Malaysia’s vision of reducing the country’s reliance on carbon-based fossil fuels while developing alternative renewable energy resources. Essentially, this will put Malaysia on a path toward cleaner energy in line with international standards.


For more information, please visit NEA’s official website at: